PDA

View Full Version : Becoming worried about repetitive styling

hazelnut
December 30th, 2009, 09:51 PM
My hair is still pretty short (about shoulder length maybe a little longer) and it's still pretty damaged/curly so I usually just put it in a bun using scrunchies that look something like this:

http://www.longhairgirl.com/Images/longhairgirl/15483_400_300.jpg

I know that wearing your hair the same way everyday can cause a lot of wear and tear over time, but I don't really have a choice right now because of the length of my hair at the moment. Do you guys think I will lose any hair and get breakage by continuing to do what I do now until my hair gets to a suitable length or at least becomes healthier so I can wear it down?

angelthadiva
December 30th, 2009, 10:22 PM
I often wear my hair in the same style day after day. I've been wearing my hair up every day for over two years and have found only good results from doing so. I think some of the keys to success are using hair friendly elastics w/o that evil metal crimp; using seamless combs as much as possible. Less styling, heat and washing are benefits too.

At your length, if you can ponytail, you can also do peacock twists and other styles too. Try experimenting, and have some fun! :flower:

DanielleRenae
December 30th, 2009, 10:22 PM
How about a different style? French braid or braided pigtails, perhaps?

Kris Dove
December 31st, 2009, 10:18 AM
If you do use scrunchies, go for satin ones as they cause less friction than other materials can.

SlightlySoprano
December 31st, 2009, 10:25 AM
You could try fastening your pony tail in different places every day (higher up or lower down on your head)

hmmm
December 31st, 2009, 10:28 AM