PDA

View Full Version : Do you really need to wear your hair up every day?

SlightlySoprano
December 30th, 2009, 10:08 AM
I am still a newbie when it comes to having long hair. I just recently decided I wouldn't go for my normal biannual CHOP OFF (i let my hair go to about 2" below shoulder, then chop it off at chin length) because over the past year my hair has thinned greatly. After talking to derms and docs, they suspect a mix of tension alopecia and some thyroid imbalance.

That being said, I am overly paranoid to wear my hair up/back often.

Is it long-hair-safe to wear it down? Are there specific things I should be doing?

Thank you:)

pepperedmoth
December 30th, 2009, 10:15 AM
A lot of people here wear their hair up every day in order to protect the length from snags and breakage. It's true this helps, but at your length it's probably less of a concern. Plus, depending on your hair, you very well may be able to wear it down frequently and still get it to grow shockingly long.

As far as the traction alopecia, I don't know what your doctor said about hairstyles, if anything (and if he/she did say anything please go for their advice and not mine), but as long as updos are gentle and loose and you don't wear the same one every day I think you should be fine.

And, of course, treat that thyroid disorder per your provider's advice!

Euphony
December 30th, 2009, 10:58 AM
I agree at your length it shouldn't be an issue. I didn't start wearing my hair up consistently until my hair was nearing my waist. At that point I wore my hair up probably 90% of the time.