PDA

View Full Version : The Hair History Of A Newbie - Where to Go Now?

lexiflowers
December 30th, 2009, 05:41 AM
Hello everyone, I'm a newbie to the site and I'm looking for some hair advice...

Here is a history of my hair - I'll try to keep it as brief as possible. :)

When I was very little I always had bobbed hair, then when I was four I decided I wanted to grow it really long, and I did. I had my ends trimmed every six weeks throughout my childhood and by the time I was 12 I had hair down to the small of my back that was in very good condition.

When I was 14 (with hair down to my tail-bone) I went on a trip abroad involving mountain climbing, white-water rafting, very hands-on stuff. I went for my usual trim a week or so before I left for this trip and had a moment of utter madness. I had it cut right back to pretty much shoulder-length. I immediately regretted it.

Consoling myself with the fact that I could grow it out again, I made do. I got it back down to just below my bra strap by the time I was 16. Then my life got very complicated and I didn't get my hair trimmed for two years! It was waist-length but a total state, and when I was 18 I had to make a clean break of it and have it all cut back up to just below my shoulders. I have very fine hair that really needs a trim at least every couple of months to keep it in good nick.

Demoralised, I decided to do what I could with hair that length. Last year I got a blunt fringe, which I love, and some layers to give my hair a bit more volume. My hair is now pretty-much bra strap length again, though my shortest layer is at my jaw-line. I've got forward graduation as well.

I like my hair, but I'd still really like it to be "properly" long again. The issue now is that I really don't want to get rid of my fringe, I prefer my face with it, and I don't know how it would look with very long hair. Obviously I'd need to grow my layers out, and goodness knows how long that would take.