PDA

View Full Version : Question : Getting a trim for the first time

Razor
December 14th, 2009, 12:21 PM
Well Ive been growing my hair for about 3 years now (straight out from a skinhead), but I have never had a trim before, I think I'm long overdue one, So I am thinking of going for one.
What I'm not sure of is,... should I go with freshly washed hair ? should I detangle before going ? should I apply products as normal to my hair before going for a trim/cut ? What sort of price and quality of service should I expect ?
y'know that sort of stuff.

Any help/advice would be super appreciated.
Cheerz :D

2peasinapod
December 14th, 2009, 02:02 PM
Welcome to LHC:)

You should have clean hair, but freshly washed hair is hard to work with (I normally wash my hair the day before). You should definitely detangle. You shouldn't use any products, because some places wash your hair (you can request not to or bring your own products) and they need to see your hair in it's natural state anyway.

Since I don't live in Scotland, I can't help you with the price, but make sure that you're very specific about how much you want cut off. Tell them, show them with your hands, have them show you if they don't seem to understand, etc. Make sure to tell them you're growing your hair out, too.

Also, since you're 2C/3A, you should probably get your hair cut dry and get a little less trimmed off then you think you need. That way, you can see the shrinkage. You can always ask them to take more off if it's not enough.

Good luck!

spidermom
December 14th, 2009, 02:15 PM
I like to have my stylist wash and condition my hair, then I do the comb-out.

Long_hair_guy
December 14th, 2009, 03:41 PM
Agreed with 2peasinapod

Make sure that you tell them that you only want a trim. Most hairdressers will cut off more then you want. You can go in with your hair in any state you want. I have been in with my hair looking pretty bad.