PDA

View Full Version : Photographic proof of the horrors of bleach...

JenniferNoel
December 12th, 2009, 02:30 AM
Given the fact that I'm still quite new to the world of long, healthy hair, I still have a lot to learn; however; much of what I have learned was from my past mistakes. Unfortunately, I had to learn the hard way, the value of my natural hair, through a series of terrible ideas. I ended up bleaching once, bleaching twice, flat-ironing every single day, and washing every day with cheap shampoos. I kept hearing how bad bleaching and heat styling is, but I never listened, not once. I was too lazy to see the split ends and broken strands, and I just kept repeating the same dumb things over and over again. Exposing it to wind, not trimming, etc, until finally, one day, I zoomed in on the below left picture and it hit me like a ton of bricks.

I was a hair killer. :draw:
http://i217.photobucket.com/albums/cc15/jenny_the_strange/meowvnfrjv.jpg

I immediately hacked it off to ear-lobe length, disgusted.
That day in history changed my life, with care, patience,
and love, my forgiving hair quickly grew from ear-lobe
length to APL within a six month period, and it continues
to twist and flow happily, an inch every month.
You hear what horrors bleach and heat can bring, and you forget. You see the damage, and you remember...
You experience it, you understand... :blueeek:

The picture on the right was taken today, and it shows what a little care and effort can really do for your hair. When it seems hopeless, there's always something to make you smile. (corny, I know.)
Moral - When they say it's bad for your hair, it is.

:graduate:

Arctic
December 12th, 2009, 06:41 AM
The pictures really speak thousand words, thanks for sharing your story! Your hair today seems really healthy and shiny! :cool:

Shanarana
December 12th, 2009, 09:22 AM