PDA

View Full Version : I recently found a bald spot! I need some advice :(

egoddess
December 3rd, 2009, 01:51 AM
Hi LHC'ers,

This is my first time posting, however, I've been lurking on these forums for quite a number of days now and everything I've read has been totally life changing for me! So first of all: thanks guys!

About a week and a half ago I was inspecting my hair and noticed an area, about the size of an Australian 5 cent coin, on my head that was completely void of hair.The rest of my hair is normal (pretty thick) it's just that one spot that looks so oddly bald and the scalp is very pink. Needless to say, I had a mini panic attack and cried for about an hour :(, but resolved to see the doctor the next morning.

My doctor basically took a quick look at it and told me I most likely had a fungal infection, and told me to go buy a basic anti-fungal cream and use it on any spots that are itchy. So that's basically what I have been doing since then.

I guess this all started when I decided to start washing my hair every second day, start exercising daily, and letting my hair air-dry. I'd go for a jog after work (during extremely hot Australian summer heat) come back home and take a cool shower, I'd wash and condition one day, then just condition the next. I also started to leave my hair to air dry naturally, but it would still sweat after the shower as the temperature here is pretty hot at the moment and I don't have an air conditioner. My scalp started to get very itchy during this time and i was shedding ALOT. Logically, I suppose this is when all the fungus/germs/whatever started breeding on my scalp?