PDA

View Full Version : CWC with leave-in conditioner

Periwinkle
April 23rd, 2008, 02:24 PM
So recently I've been thinking about giving a CWC wash ago (I've not done one before).

However, my regular conditioner is a leave-in. I shampoo and rinse, then towel-dry my hair and leave conditioner in until it dries.

Is there any way I could use a leave-in conditioner with a CWC wash? If there isn't, would it be overconditioning my hair to do a CWC and then put leave-in in? Or just to CW and then have the last C be my leave-in?

I'm confused! :confused:

Riot Crrl
April 23rd, 2008, 02:29 PM
You can CW, and as long as it's totally rinsed well, I don't see why you can't keep your last C step the same if it's been working for you. If it is quite heavy though (and/or expensive), you might want to pick up a lighter (cheaper) one to use for the first C.

MeganS
April 23rd, 2008, 02:30 PM
Overconditioning? Is there such a thing? ;)

Seriously, I'm just a newbie, but I do a CWC, followed by a leave-in C fairly frequently. My hair is curly and tends to be pretty dry, so it needs all the conditioning I can throw at it. I would say, if your hair tends to be dry, you might have success with that method.

Or, try it out, and if it doesn't work, change methods. Nothing like experimenting!

(I need a mad scientist emoticon. If you're a Girl Genius fan, then you could be conditioning...FOR SCIENCE!!)

florenonite
April 23rd, 2008, 02:32 PM
I usually CW followed by oiling or a leave-in (I've gone no-cone so I'm oiling rather than using a leave-in, as it's difficult to find a no-cone leave in). If your avatar is any indication, you're doing fine with just poo and leave-in, so you could try CW with the leave-in for starters and see how it goes.

Riot Crrl
April 23rd, 2008, 02:34 PM