PDA

View Full Version : Trying Very Hard to Return to Healthy Hair

Dresses & Tresses
November 17th, 2009, 08:21 AM
Hello! I have been messing around with my hair for about three years now. It all started when my DH told me that he wanted me to cut a lot of my length off because my hair was broken, split and damaged. I did cut about 7 inches off and then the stylist flat ironed my normally 3C hair. My DH and the children went crazy - They have literally never said such kind things about my hair. So from there began my destruction of my hair. I had highlights put into my nearly black hair - and an overall lighter base color, I was flat ironing my hair almost everyday, as well as blowdrying it stick straight at least once a week.

Now my hair is split, dry, and falling out. I need to return to gentle appropriate hair care for 3C spiral curls. I have white hair growing in, but at this time I am terrified to color it.

I am open to any and all suggestions - please help. I have gone from having waist length hair to having almost shoulder length hair and it is very "splitty" at the ends.

Thank you for your time and thoughts ~ D&T

pinchbeck
November 17th, 2009, 09:17 AM
Oh my gosh. I don't know why you decided to to all that stuff to your hair when you took your initial 7" off!

Most will advise you to cut off the damaged ends and start of fresh. However, if your ends are miles long (not likely!) than you many want to eliminate damage in stages in order to keep length. Furthermore, start an oiling routine if you haven't already and allow your hair to be what it was supposed to be. Spiral curls? Wow. Donate your flat iron so you will never use it again.

Lamb
November 17th, 2009, 09:30 AM
Stop heat styling (irons, blowdrier), take a look at naturallycurly.com, read the articles here.