PDA

View Full Version : Hair and identity: reflecting inner / projecting outer sense of self

OleanderTime
November 13th, 2009, 12:16 PM
For a little background, I did my undergraduate work in Sociology and Women's Studies, and I currently work as a social science researcher. I'm going to start working toward a PhD in Sociology specializing in gender and sexuality in about a year and a half. So I hope these come across as legitimate questions.

How do you feel your hair is related to your gender or your sexuality? How does your hair REFLECT your INNER sense of self? How does it PROJECT what you want to say to the world (or just your partner)?

My sexuality is on the queer spectrum (my current partner is a woman) and I've always felt my hair was very much related to that. First of all, when I started thinking I might be gay many years ago, one of the first things I thought about was the fact that I'd had boy-short hair growing up. Did that mean something? (I don't think so anymore, but interesting that was instantly the first thing I thought about.) When I started dating my first girlfriend at age 14, I cut my (already short) hair even shorter because she had short hair, too. I thought that's just what queer girls did, after all, we'd seen Ani DiFranco's early 1990s album covers. Only years later do I look back and realize my girlfriend's short hair was part of who she was overall: sort of gender androgynous and not really stereotypically feminine. I have always felt I was pretty gender normatively presenting, but for some reason I've felt that long hair would eclipse some of the important parts of my identity to the world, and I didn't want that. Through college, I'd had hair around shoulder length.