PDA

View Full Version : Is this dye released?

Hanamizu
November 12th, 2009, 09:23 AM
This is my first time hennaing so I'm not sure how to tell when it's ready for use... I mixed it together this morning with lemon juice, wine vinegar, and a little chai tea (warm, not hot) and it's been sitting for 8 hours now.. I tried a little dab on my finger and left it for 5 minutes but the stain seems pretty faint..
This is what it looks like right now.. Is the dye released? Or have I let it sit too long and it's demising?.. I don't see any green. :confused:

It's Punjabi Prime from mehandi.com btw
http://img690.imageshack.us/img690/530/p1000964u.jpg

young&reckless
November 12th, 2009, 09:42 AM
Dark poo color on top, lighter poo color under it, I think you're good to go!

Nightshade
November 12th, 2009, 09:57 AM
Looks good to me! May be a bit thick, though! I'd either put it on damp hair, or thin it down a titch (so it's like pancake batter), or both :)

young&reckless
November 12th, 2009, 10:08 AM
There you are Nightshade!

I was waiting for your response as I use a cassia henna blend and the color is a bit different.

Themyst
November 12th, 2009, 10:14 AM
I'm confused. Mine gets these red pools in it when ready - if it's thicker, then it gets at least a red outline around the bowl. :confused: Does some henna behave differently? I usually use BAQ Yemeni.

BlackfootHair
November 12th, 2009, 10:17 AM
I'm confused. Mine gets these red pools in it when ready - if it's thicker, then it gets at least a red outline around the bowl. :confused: Does some henna behave differently? I usually use BAQ Yemeni.

I get that too...but I make mine thinner. I think it's just hard to tell in the pic because of it's thickness. I would definately add some more water.

lora410
November 12th, 2009, 10:22 AM
Looks released and I would also thin it down. Another way to tell is if you see red dye fluid on the top of the mix.

RocketDog
November 12th, 2009, 10:23 AM