PDA

View Full Version : Haircut advice

FB
October 27th, 2009, 04:28 PM
I have been growing my hair for I think 3 1/2 years. THis past June I cut off a good inch and a half and I am already seeing little white dots. Therefore, I am assuming it is time for a trim. Should I trim it really soon or do you think I can go longer?? If I do go longer will it cause more damage?? If I do trim how much is enough to trim to effectively get the white dots gone?? I do not want to cut that much because I am going for tail bone length and I am currently at my waist.

spidermom
October 27th, 2009, 04:40 PM
Try putting your fingers on either side of the little white dots and pulling gently. If they come apart with very little effort, better to trim than have them break off that way, leaving ragged ends that split easily. If they don't pop apart readily, you can leave it for awhile.

Also, if you can feel a difference in the texture near the ends, best trim. If your hair feels pretty much the same from scalp to ends, you can wait.

All of this, of course, is only my opinion and how I evaluate my own hair. You can do it however you like.

manderly
October 27th, 2009, 04:41 PM
You can also do some intensive search & destroy (S&D) and snip the damaged hairs out, prolonging the time between trims :)

pinchbeck
October 27th, 2009, 07:20 PM
If you grew your hair for over three years without a trim than maybe your initial 1.5" trim wasn't enough. The longest I have grown my hair is for 1.5 years and I noticed splits that traveled up a few inches from the bottom of my hair. However, they weren't one big split, but rather little splits kind of like needles on a pine tree!