PDA

View Full Version : MSM Supplements for Growth

pinchbeck
October 22nd, 2009, 10:00 AM
Is there really a miracle pill for faster hair growth? Supplements I have read about that are supposed to assist are: Biotin, MSM, Horsetail, and Silica.

Most of us are not knowledgeable about holistic and alternative approaches in self care which brings the following questions:

1)How do we know were are not doing more harm than good?
2)How do we know this isn't a marketing ploy? How do we know if we are introducing something to our bodies that is safe?
3)Doesn't body weight have something to do with how many milligrams our bodies require? For example, a supplement label will instruct to take one capsule a day (or two or three or six!).

I would love my hair to gain length in a short period of time, but I don't want to fix something if it ain't broken!

ambychelle
October 22nd, 2009, 05:15 PM
I'm no expert for sure but I think that time is the only real way to grow hair.

I do, however, take biotin (I'm trying to shed less hair though.. i wouldn't care if it never got any longer than it is now if I could just slow down this shedding *lol*) and MSM. Biotin is a water soluble vitamin which means that if I take more than my body can use, the extra comes out in urine. I believe this can make your kidneys work a little harder but I don't feel like I'm taking it in such massive doses that my kidneys will suffer. MSM is another I feel perfectly safe taking. I take mine in a pill with glucosomine for joint health. Even if I didn't take it for hair, I'd take it for my joints because my knees feel so much better now.

I think that horsetail is a form if silica. I'm sort of on the fence about this one because there's not much research on it.

You do need to be cautious using herbs interally and fat soluable vitamins such as Vit. A. but from my research, you'd have to take a LOT of vitamin A for it to become toxic and daily for many months, not just a one time big dose.