PDA

View Full Version : advice for split end obsession

LilacTea
October 17th, 2009, 07:53 PM
Hello,
This is my first post as a new member. I have been growing my hair out for 1 1/2 years and it now comes to about 2 inches below shoulder length. I want to grow it to the middle of my back. My problem is that I am overly bothered by my split ends. I search and destroy them often and get really frustrated because no matter what I keep finding them. The thing is that I think by most people's standards I have healthy hair, but I am such a perfectionist about it that having any splits at all bothers me. I treat my hair gently (use sulfate free shampoo, a wide tooth comb, no hair dye, no blow drying), so why do I still have them? The only thing I may do wrong is I wear my hair down a lot (would wearing it up help?).
So, my question is: Are a certain amount of split ends just inevitable? If so, how might I relax and stop focusing on them so much? Has anyone learned to accept imperfections in their hair? Any advice would be much appreciated.
Thanks everyone!:pumpkin:

Alexannee10
October 17th, 2009, 07:59 PM
I have the same problem has you .. I have a lot of split ends. I cut them when I see one (sometimes I could cut them for hours lol), and I trim my hair regulary, using biologic shampoo, no heat etc .. But I still have split ends. I think maybe some kinds of hair are more easily damaged than others .. Mine are more fragile since I've been using straightener. I'll never use that thing again loll .. I think we will have to leave with them until we will have cut them all. In a few years. Lol.

PS: And welcome to LHC !

Amara
October 17th, 2009, 08:11 PM