PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone know how to make roots appear less obvious?

Bellona
October 15th, 2009, 11:28 AM
I did a search but I really didn't find what I wanted.

My hair is still short (longest parts are past shoulder, shortest parts are just under my ears). However, I've been growing for a few months, and now that I'm not getting any sun my virgin roots are looking quite darker than I had anticipated. This will be the first time seeing my virgin hair color since I was a teenager, but I think it may have darkened.

Anyway, does anyone have any tips for making them appear lighter or less obvious? I found the only thing that works is washing every day, and I really don't want to do that while trying to grow. If I pull my top layers back it seems to only look worse (the bottom is darker for some reason) :confused:

Alexannee10
October 15th, 2009, 11:37 AM
Mmm I really don't know. I had this problem. I was lightning my hair with some peroxide during 2 or 3 years. Only a little bit, just for add some reflects. And then, I stopped, and my roots were darker that I expected .. The only thing I found is to henna my hair darker, the same color as my roots.

I'm curious, did anyone have this problem?

florenonite
October 15th, 2009, 11:40 AM
What's your natural colour? What's the lighter (dyed?) colour? You could have a look at Nightshade's articles on herbal colouring and henna and see if you can darken your length so it's closer in length to your roots.

pinchbeck
October 15th, 2009, 11:45 AM
aybe its time to let your virgin hair grow out so you can appreciate its variety in colour. What I did in the past was use a semi-permanent hair colour to stain the lighter parts of my hair which were very porous from colouring. I stained them the same colour as my roots were with no further damage because it was a semi-permanent. In addition it can help fill in and smooth your damaged hair shafts from continuous colouring.