PDA

View Full Version : New to it all and no idea..

Eilean
October 12th, 2009, 04:25 AM
Dear all,

I am pretty new to natural hair care as you might have noticed and I am starting to wonder if my routine is okay?

I do use Aubrey Organics shampoo every second day because my hair tends to get quite greasy. I do not use the pure shampoo but dilute it down into 300 ml of warm water.

I use Aubrey Organics conditioner once a week, also diluted down into 300 ml warm water.

I use cold rinse and I have done a cold rinse with lemon this morning.

I make a coconut milk treatment once a month.

I am not sure about the following though:
How often should I use the lemon rinse? Every time I wash my hair?

And is there an oil for the ends of the hair I could use as a monthly resp. every 14 days treatment? I tried to find coconut oil but I have not been successful yet. I was in the supermarket on Friday but stood in front of half a dozen rows of oil from sunflower, over olive oil to walnut. Too many choices! :confused:

I know it is all individual and I have to test a lot, however I'd appreciate every advice :) .

Thanks!

Tangerine
October 12th, 2009, 05:22 AM
Hi Eilean, isn't the natural hair thing great:)
I've recently started washing with Indian herbs only and just added a catnip rinse to my routine as well. and am loving all of it. LHC is such an eye opener!

I am sure there will be others along with tips about lemon rinses. I was only wondering why you don't condition every time you wash? Or do I misunderstand you?

About coconut oil: you can order it online (I get mine from Akoma: akomaskincare.co.uk) but Holland & Barratt sometimes sell it too in a big tub for about £11 I think.
If you like you can oil your hair with it as a pre-wash treatment, or use a little after washing in your damp hair. Or just use a little every day on dry hair (just rub a little between your palms and 'slide' it on, if that makes sense).