PDA

View Full Version : Clarifying

YoginiCelestial
October 10th, 2009, 10:46 AM
Everyone, I am a newbie and want desperately to improve the condition of my hair.
I was thinking that to begin my hair growing journey I could first clarify to remove all remaining silicones and build up.
I'd like to do a little research and gather some opinions on clarifiers. I really don't want to dry my hair out, so I'd like to find one that is gentle but works well. Also how often to use a clarifier?
Thank you in advance for any input about your experience.
:)

MirandaWelch
October 10th, 2009, 10:47 AM
Good question. I'm interesting in hearing what others have to say.

mbaker223
October 10th, 2009, 10:48 AM
I only clarify every 6 months since I don't use cones. And all I use is my Everpure shampoo with 1 tbs of baking soda mixed in. And after that I condition with a non-cone like V05. Sometimes after that I rinse with apple cider vinegar.

Hope that helps.

Peter
October 10th, 2009, 11:11 AM
I think a lot of people here like the Suave clarifying shampoo. I've never tried it myself so I can't say anything about it.

You should clarify whenever your hair starts to look lank and lifeless, or if you get crunchy ends and oils/leave-ins don't help.

Heidi_234
October 10th, 2009, 12:00 PM
Any SLS shampoo with as less additives as possible can clarify. Just pick the one intended for normal hair (not oily or dry hair) to ensure that. Some people as baking soda, but it's not necessary, and in some case just too harsh on hair.

GlassEyes
October 10th, 2009, 12:09 PM
I think a lot of people here like the Suave clarifying shampoo. I've never tried it myself so I can't say anything about it.

You should clarify whenever your hair starts to look lank and lifeless, or if you get crunchy ends and oils/leave-ins don't help.
Actually, funny story about that--the Suave Clarifying is the only shampoo of that line that ISN'T clarifying--it contains dimethicone.