PDA

View Full Version : Yellow, Green Or In Between Hair?

luluj
October 5th, 2009, 11:29 AM
HI!! Just wondering if anyone else is dealing with "yellowing" of their natural silver hair and if so, what works best for you to combat it? I have tried the "blue shampoos" (too many chemicals and bad smells) before but would like some ideas on natural products.

spidermom
October 5th, 2009, 11:58 AM
I have read that you can dissolve 4 aspirin in a quart of warm water and pour that slowly through your hair. However, I have no personal experience with this.

My hair has always been golden blonde, so if there are yellowish tones to my white/silver hairs, I can't see it.

Anje
October 5th, 2009, 11:58 AM
Too few silvers on me to worry about, but I have heard of people using a dilute solution with laundry bluing in it to combat the yellowing. I'm not sure if anyone here has tried it or what they thought of it.

Rinsing with something that chelates minerals, like citric acid, might also work over time, by removing the yellowing stuff, rather than countering the color. Similarly, if you have iron or something similar in your water, getting a shower filter or a water softener might prevent the color change. Again, though, that's more speculation on my part than any kind of informed statement.

Concerning hair coloring, were you using "ash-toned" colors? Those often have a greenish base to them to combat the gold and red tones that come through with warmer hair colors.

heatherdazy
October 5th, 2009, 12:05 PM
Are you heat styling? The most common cause of white hair yellowing is over-heating. Other possible causes include swimming, excessive sun exposure, and hard water.

Silver Strands
October 5th, 2009, 12:08 PM
I use Pantene Silver Expressions to remove yellowing.
It works very well, smells wonderful (it has jasmine in it), and the shampoo does not contain
cones if you are against those.
The conditioner does contain a cone but the set leaves my hair feeling so silky.