PDA

View Full Version : Helmets and Hair

verene
October 2nd, 2009, 09:06 PM
Any one have suggestions for hairstyles that work well under a bicycle helmet?

Normally I wear my hair in some sort of bun, however starting this last week and continuing for presumably the next several months my bike is my main form of transportation. My buns and bike helmet do not like one another. I'm not willing for forgo the safety of a helmet, so I need a change in hairstyle.

I could do braids, as that was what I have done that last few days, but are there any other options? Specifically options that are or with minor tweaking can be made office appropriate?

Shiva
October 2nd, 2009, 09:12 PM
Is a bicycle helmet pretty much the same as a motorcycle helmet? Because if so, I just pull it back in a low ponytail, wrap it in a hairglove and put my helmet on.... it works.

KatanyaG
October 2nd, 2009, 09:22 PM
I ride a bicycle to and from work. As I work in a hospital, so I have to look neat. What I do is wear a low ponytail for the ride, and when I arrive, I either do a quick sock bun or a cinnamon bun.

They both look tidy, and they only take a few seconds to do without a mirror.

Quixii
October 2nd, 2009, 09:59 PM
I was thinking about making exactly this thread!
I bike to school daily. I generally do braids or ponytails (usually ponytails), which, while they work and I like them, do get kind of.. tiring, I guess. I'm bored of them. I want to start learning some of the great updos here. But then I put my hair in xnewbun and go to bike to school and - oh darn, back in a ponytail it goes because the bun runs into the helmet. >.<

clairenewcastle
October 2nd, 2009, 10:11 PM
Years ago I'd a moped....and long hair. Not a good combination. I braided it low on my neck and tucked it inside my jacket. A low ponytail worked too - as long as it was once again tucked into my jacket.
As for putting it up inside my helmet? Uncomfortable and too much friction on my hair.

nicolezoie