PDA

View Full Version : Work trying to force me to buy their scrunchies as part of my uniform

TheStorm
October 2nd, 2009, 12:14 AM
While at work I have to wear a hairnet at all times, next month the company wants to introduce new rules for long hair which to cut a long document short say that underneath the hairnet it must be worn in a ponytail with a scrunchie bought from their own shop.

Does anyone here know enough about UK regulations to know if they are allowed to do that?

I'm not an expert in such matters but I always thought that if you had to wear an exact specific item of clothing to work then they had to provide it and not be able to force you to buy it.

Thing is I have no objection to wearing the scrunchie but a scrunchie alone will not stay in my hair, it slides out in minutes. My hair is just about long enough for me to sit on, if I put it in a ponytail there is no way I'll ever get it all in a hairnet. And worst of all why should I be forced to buy a scrunchie from them when I have far better quality ones at home that were a heck of a lot cheaper than theirs.

Thanks.
(Sorry if thats a bit of a rant, just had a big argument/dissagreement at work over it)

Quixii
October 2nd, 2009, 12:17 AM
Huh. That does seem odd.
Would they let you braid it after the scrunchie, or double up with a scrunchie of yours and theirs?

TheStorm
October 2nd, 2009, 12:24 AM
I should be ok to braid it after the scrunchie but am not allowed anything to tie the braid off with, that would work for a while though. I tried braiding it without anything in the top and tying off the braid with the scrunchie but the scrunchie is way too big to stay there and just drops of the end straight away.
I wouldn't be allowed one of my own scrunchies at all.

LittleOrca
October 2nd, 2009, 12:24 AM