PDA

View Full Version : Long hair Mamas...advice please

whiteisle
September 27th, 2009, 06:01 PM
I recently had our 3rd (and last!) little one at the end of May and I'm now in the throws of post-partum shed. My hair is sooooo thinned out compared to what it once was even before pregnancy. With my previous two pregnancies my hair was short so the shedding didn't bother me as much and wasn't quite as noticeable. So I'm wondering how freaked out I should be this time because my hair is much longer than before and I've tried so very hard to take good care of it ~ I hate to see it just falling out all. the. time! I find them everywhere! My shower looks like Chewbacca has been in there. :(

I understand some people cut it short and go from there but I don't know that I can stand to go through more growing out than necessary. What, if anything, did you do if you experienced pp shed with long/very long hair?

WavyGirl
September 28th, 2009, 01:17 AM
Well, I have no real experience of PPS as I had drastic cuts after both my children were born. I immediately started growing out after both cuts and had all those awkward, above chin, stages to go through. Not a good combination with exhaustion and poor body image. :(

I can relate to the shedding though, as I experience that daily and always have. A lot! My advice to you would be to relax and carry on as normal. You are probably the only one who will notice a difference in the thickness of your hair. Most of us are way more critical about our own appearance than anyone around us is likely to be. Also at your current length you can put it up if it's really getting you down and ignore it for a while.

When the new growth starts to show some length in a couple of years you may feel that you can't stand the relatively thinner ends and decide to trim/reshape them. By then it'll be so much longer that you probably won't mind.

Magrat
September 28th, 2009, 01:31 AM