PDA

View Full Version : Sorry to bother you all again...

Eniratak
September 27th, 2009, 01:35 PM
But I am worried. XD. Worried enough to the point where I am having dreams about my hair. I know. Strange, but very true.
I have rather long hair and I've been growing it out for around six or seven years. The last time I cut it was in eighth grade and that was for bangs and the stylist gave me a small little trim. Now I'm a senior at my high school and I haven't cut or trimmed my hair.
Point blank: I have a lot of split ends. A lot. Most are at the ends and a few in the length of my hair. And I've been debating on cutting it to get the split ends out, however, I've heard about the 'search and destroy' method. I don't want to cut my hair and even more, I don't want to go get it done at a salon (after all the horror stories I've heard, who would?). But I'm at a loss at what to do.

My questions being: Does the search method work for those with so many split ends? Do I need to go get three or even four inches cut off to get rid of them?

I just have one problem with trimming, that being, I hate when hair is cut straight across. I like having jagged ends. The straight across look doesn't work for me and I don't know how you'd get a trim or cut without having that done. (Can you tell I don't cut it often? XD.)
Anyway, I would love for some help. I can't take pictures of my hair, other than the ones that I have, because the damage doesn't show up on camera. Any help would be appreciated and I'm sorry for the long read.

nyemelis
September 27th, 2009, 01:37 PM
When I used to get trims regularly, if I told the hairdresser that I didn't want the freshly-cut blunt look on my ends (I thought it was dorky) she would make it look "jagged."

So don't be scared of a trim for that reason.

bte
September 27th, 2009, 01:42 PM
Don't panic!

There is a lot of good advice about the Search & Destroy method on this site from people with experience in dealing with major split end problems.