PDA

View Full Version : Newbie growing out with questions

Hierophant
September 24th, 2009, 11:49 AM
I am a newbie here and have been reading threads for over a week now. I have put many hours into reading, but still have a few questions I thought I would ask the knowledgable bunch here.

I have 2a/F/ii typ hair, and have started from a very short haircut (less than one inch). I have gone about 3 months since my last trim and have no intentions of trimming anytime less than a year out. I would like to go many years with no trim.

My questions are:
(1) How long can I go without a trim before split ends start becoming an issue? I plan to use the S&D method, but that will be hard until it gets some good length on it (which will take a couple years from where I am)...
(2) Does the fine hair type get less split ends than the coarse hair type? My hair shaft is so small, I can't see where it could even split (I have baby-fine hair)
(3) Are their any habits I can start now to ensure I keep my hair healthy enough to reach long lengths? See below for my current habits:

-I do not use a blow dryer, irons, etc
-I do not use gel/hair spray, etc
-I only use an Ox Horn comb and Boars Bristle Brush
-I use Jason's brand shampoo and conditioner (no Sodion Laurel/Laureth Sulphate) every other day (twice a week I use Nizoral)
-I am currently experimenting with Monistat trying to booth my growth rate

Thoughts?

Thanks!

RancheroTheBee
September 24th, 2009, 11:59 AM
My questions are:
(1) How long can I go without a trim before split ends start becoming an issue? I plan to use the S&D method, but that will be hard until it gets some good length on it (which will take a couple years from where I am)...