PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else experience others having a problem with you wearing hair sticks?

Anywhere
September 23rd, 2009, 06:49 PM
Today I decided to wear one of my hair sticks to school, which I usually don't do because I leave my hair down most of the time. My half-Asian friend saw it and had a good time yelling at me saying I'm "trying to be Asian" and that "white people can't wear hairsticks."

And then she promptly ignored me for the rest of the day. Apparently hair sticks are not for me.. :(

Anyone else ever have an experience like this?

Heavenly Locks
September 23rd, 2009, 06:51 PM
What a closed minded bratty friend you've got. NOBODY 'owns' hairsticks...what she said was very racist IMO.

Wear them.

Anywhere
September 23rd, 2009, 06:51 PM
Oh, and sorry if this is in the wrong place, I'm still kind of new at this.

Kaileida
September 23rd, 2009, 06:52 PM
Er... no. No, I can't say I have. I'm sorry to hear that, though.

GlassEyes
September 23rd, 2009, 06:52 PM
What a lovely little example of homespun racism. Your friend sounds lovely.

I'm a guy, and honestly, I haven''t had a single comment on it--not to my face, anyway. Well, that's not true, i got a few at work, but I work with a bunch of jackasses anyway, so I don't really value their opinions. They just think I do it because I'm 'gay' anyway. :rolleyes:

However, I've never had anyone accuse me of trying to be 'Asian' because of it. Also, I'm fairly certain other cultures use/have used hairsticks.

missfortune9335
September 23rd, 2009, 06:53 PM
uh, no. I've never heard that before. ever.

little_acorn
September 23rd, 2009, 06:54 PM
Umm I've been wearing then for many, many years and never had a problem, but then I think alot of people think I'm a bit eccentric anyway. I would say don't worry about it and enjoy wearing them :D

ecologystudent
September 23rd, 2009, 06:54 PM