PDA

View Full Version : I want to do this! Any advice?

Igor
September 22nd, 2009, 04:48 PM
I always regretted I never tried having dreadlocks or something similar before I shaved it all off. Lately I have been considering coconut oiling my hair and then braiding it all in little braids. I saw this “magic braid tool” in a toy store that twists treads together (It came with colourful beads too :lol: ) so I’m seriously considering making around 40 little braids like that in a mix of real braids and those twists and using coconut oil to “set” it

Any advice on how to do it the most hair friendly way?

missfortune9335
September 22nd, 2009, 04:51 PM
no I've never tried anything like that before so I don't have much advise, but if it's the braiding toy thingy I've seen it looks as though it may rip your hair out or something in the process.... any chance of getting a friend to help you put in little braids instead?

enfys
September 22nd, 2009, 04:59 PM
I'd be inclined to do it by hand too.

Do you mean doing it without and hairbands or anything? So you mean set the ends so they don't unravel?

Sorry I seem a bit thick, I just don't think I'm picturing it right.

I've put loads of little plaits in my hair when it was very long, but tied the ends off. I found as I did a three strand plait especially on that scale with so few hairs, the ends plaited themselves seperately so got a bit tangled. That would happen with any braiding, gadget or not, but I think that'd be the most damaging aspect.

Starr
September 22nd, 2009, 05:37 PM
I think you would absolutely stunning with individuals. . . I've seen the hair twisting machine and to be honest I think you should stick with good old fashioned braids.

iris
September 22nd, 2009, 05:38 PM
I've done that before, both braids and twists. I braided in some fake hair because it would look too thin otherwise, but I doubt you'd have that problem.