PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question about the state of my hair!

seanw
September 22nd, 2009, 02:46 PM
Hi,

This is a great site – I've been trawling through and it's engrossing. But I need some advice.

My hair is close to the length I want it (just below shoulder level). But it isn't in the condition I want it, it could be better: sleeker, smoother. The big problem, I think, is split ends, but I'm no expert. I've posted some pictures so you can see for yourselves.

I do try to take care of it. However, I go to the gym daily and have to wash it most days, if not every day. Washing routine is fine (I think!): wash the scalp, rinse, condition the length, rinse. I don't rub the hair dry, nor do I use a blow drier. I did wring it in a towel, but realise now I should only blot it. Then I let it air-dry. I used to use spray-on/leave in conditioner while my hair was damp, but recently switched to a little jojoba oil when the hair has dried. I don't comb it excessively, and use a wide-toothed comb.

I've recently been thinking about hot oil too – perhaps once a week, and I've come across a recipe (2 tables olive oil, 1 tables honey) that I might try (but are there other tried-and-true formulas?).

Anyway, should I get my hair trimmed to help with the split-ends problem (assuming that's the reason why my hair isn't as sleek as I'd like it)? I did get a trim a month-or-so ago, with instructions given to trim the split-ends, but I don't think that's what was done – it ended up being just a simple trim, I think. Would a trim even help? I'd be prepared to lose an inch (or two) if that would work, but would more length than that need to be lost to do the job properly?

I really don't know, and don't want to get it cut if that's not going to help. But if that's not the solution, what is?

Sean

http://i175.photobucket.com/albums/w155/assscat/hair/Screenshot2009-09-22at115423.jpg

http://i175.photobucket.com/albums/w155/assscat/hair/Screenshot2009-09-22at115430.jpg