PDA

View Full Version : Help me decide what to do about damaged hair

TheEndlessOcean
September 13th, 2009, 09:09 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm new here so I suppose a bit about myself is in order. I'm a guy and I've been growing out my hair for the past 3 years or so. I have pretty wavy hair with some curls at the end, mostly in the back, and up until a few months ago I've had no idea what I was doing when it comes to hair care. Luckily, I completely avoided blow driers, straighteners, and even harsh shampoo, but I've come to realize that I've been damaging my hair with combs and brushes.

I used to be frustrated with how unpredictable my hair was, and so I'd constantly comb it until it did what I wanted. Of course, that didn't keep it in place long anyway, and I pulled out quite a bit of hair in the process, as I used to think that every hair that came out was on it's way out anyway and I was just helping it along, and I was not very gentle with the comb. I also discovered boar bristle brushes somewhat recently, and thought I was doing my hair a service by using it all the time and distributing the oils. Plus it made my hair somewhat straighter, which I liked, but I wasn't very gentle with that either and now know that I probably went way overboard.

Since finding this forum I've learned tons and tons about hair care and have tried a lot of the suggestions here, and they seem to be working, however, they only affect the underlayer of my hair that didn't receive much of the excessive combing and brushing that the canopy did. Right now I'm very happy with the way the underlayer looks, but it's always covered up by the canopy.

I took some pictures to help illustrate:

Hair down and normal:

http://i157.photobucket.com/albums/t71/TheAmazingBlob/DSCF5487.jpg

Canopy flipped over to the other side:

http://i157.photobucket.com/albums/t71/TheAmazingBlob/DSCF5489.jpg

Just holding up some of the canopy hair:

http://i157.photobucket.com/albums/t71/TheAmazingBlob/DSCF5494.jpg