PDA

View Full Version : Layers and growing them out????how???

indigonight
September 11th, 2009, 11:28 AM
I have a lot of layers from a bad experience at a hair-dressers who gave me layers I did not ask for which as you can on my profile pic gives me a very deep V. My problem is my longest lengths are split end free, healthy and well but the upper layers are quite split and probably need a trim. I dont want to go to the hair-dressers again, after too many bad experiences I dont trust them!

a) how do I grow them out if they need to be trimmed again and often (I noticed they seem to get damage much more than my length in general-maybe because they fall out of braids/buns and thus get less protection)?
b) how do I trim without compromising my healthy length?
c) how do I trim them period?

I looked at this site http://community.livejournal.com/feyeselftrim/
but my V is so deep I dont think this method would work.

Anyone with experience of layers please let me know how I should proceed, as I said my lengths are wonderful, I really want to grow out these layers but they seem to be unhealthy so trimming is just driving me crazy as they are impossible (seemingly) to grow out...

Cherry_Sprinkle
September 11th, 2009, 11:43 AM
I'm growing out layers myself. What I am doing is S&D the splits so they don't lead to breakage and I am having professional trims at least 2 times a year (I do this for my damage), my plan is to hit classic length and then maintain there until the shortest layers are even. My hair is cut in a pretty straight style but it forms a V when dry and curly, and since I don't want to chop my hair to where the layers are, the only compromise I have is to get to a length I want and maintain there.

indigonight
September 11th, 2009, 12:42 PM
Thanks Cherry, sounds like a good idea. I shall just trim the splits on the layers and maintain the length.