PDA

View Full Version : Growing out a fringe/bangs

Namarie
August 21st, 2009, 08:44 AM
I've been growing out my fringe/bangs. They've finally reached below eye length but it seems to be the most frustrating length. They are ALMOST long enough to tuck behind my ears.

I'm trying to grow ALL of my hair, but obviously when the bangs/fringe reach a certain length I will have to even it out by cutting the rest of my hair.

Anyway, I was wondering if anyone had any hairstyle tips or styles that I can do while growing these parts out? My hair is currently shoulder length.

krn2891
August 21st, 2009, 08:50 AM
I grew out my bangs in high school and cut my hair back to shoulder length which is where my bangs were before I graduated. Now I was cutting off damage and starting fresh with my hair but I was also figuring my bangs would be the same length and then I could have same length hair. Well apparently my bangs had a different idea because 8 years later my bangs are still at shoulder level while the rest of my hair is down to tail bone. But I don't have a problem blending them in with the rest of my hair. So if you don't mind having a few layers, I woud not worry about cutting your hair back to where you bangs are. As far as getting through the awkward stage the only thing I new how to do was wearing headbands alot to hold them back which had the advantage of training my bangs to go back and not fall forward.

Amraann
August 21st, 2009, 09:00 AM
Much like my on again off again layer obsession, I go back and forth with trimming and then letting my bangs grow too.
So I understand your frustration.

When they are at that annoying length but I am really trying to grow them, I usually use a little hair clip thing and clip them back.
For a dressy occasion I side sweep them. Make a distinct side part side sweep to the one side and then put the rest up.

Like in this picture.... (I am wearing the green)
http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b381/amraann/Tifwedding.jpg

Maddy25