PDA

View Full Version : Unwanted attention

avoidinreality
August 12th, 2009, 09:03 PM
I started training to become a certified nursing assistant recently and one of our skills is "hair care". The practice of this skill consists of raking a small, cheap, thin toothed comb through each others hair. Granted we are taught to go from tips to roots and in sections, but I am really beginning to hate this part of the course. Because of my long hair (that is free from mousse, gel and hairspray) I am almost a permanent "fake patient". :brickwall I didn't want this kind of attention.

I am lucky that most of the students are pretty gentle....but notice I did say "most". One week to go and then I have my scalp back!

Lady Mary
August 12th, 2009, 09:20 PM
:sad Ugh, how awful! I am happy for you that it is almost over. I am not sure I'd have been able to deal with people touching my hair (and mine isn't exactly impressive!)

free_hug
August 13th, 2009, 01:59 AM
Aw, poor you. Well, if you're almost always one - do you think it would be rude to just say once or twice that this time you don't want to be one? I mean, they'll probably understand... And maybe there's some other people with longish hair who want some attention too ;)

Calista
August 13th, 2009, 02:33 AM
You could either say that your head starts to hurt from constant combing, or you could bring your own comb. Or clench your teeth and hope for the week to be over soon! :)

magpielaura
August 13th, 2009, 02:38 AM
Braid your hair into some sort of style that looks too time consuming to interfere with or put back! It is not fair that you have to endure the most "haircare". You could always tell them that you are trying a hair care experiment to minimise washing and haven't used shampoo in 3 weeks...seems to creep out a lot of people, regardless of how the hair actually looks!

One more week! Congratulations in advance!:cheese:

SimplyLonghair
August 13th, 2009, 03:28 AM
I can really understand your pain.