PDA

View Full Version : For those of you that cut to remove old dye...

Culdayne
August 10th, 2009, 12:28 PM
Was it worth it?

I finally decided that with my fragile hair, I would just bite the bullet and get rid of the rest of ALL old hair that had been bleached/dyed. I previously had cut last year and rid myself of the worst of the damage. (I had been alternating between henna and dye for a few years)

A couple of weeks ago I rid myself of the rest. Now I have my natural hair with henna and indigo over that. My hair is a little past my shoulders and it feels healthier than 'I can't remember when'.

Still, I wonder if I it was worth it. I was nearly at BSL. *sigh* I am looking at two years now for my goal.

I would love to hear stories from anyone that has done this. :)

pink.sara
August 10th, 2009, 12:43 PM
Hi Culdayne, I'm at jaw length now because of cutting off old damage, the desire to dye and experiment got too much for me and I chopped my 42 inch hair to jaw and went platinum..then red...then purple...then platinum and black...and well you get the picture!

Don't fret too much that your goals seem far away though :)
My hair doesn't grow faster than average (about 1/2 inch a month usually) and I got from pixie to waist in under 5 years.

I keep reminding myself I can regrow beautiful long hair if it's taken care of, and once I got to shoulder before, I mostly oiled it lightly and wore it up in various buns and twists anyway.

Benign neglect works wonders and also means less tangles and splits to trim off :D

Good luck with your growing!
Race you to waist?! ;)

Maddy25
August 10th, 2009, 12:45 PM
I used to have BSL hair and cut it to my ears to grow it in healthier Last year :)

I honestly thought it was worth it because I wanted long hair, but it was just so damaged and frizzy from colouring and stripping it that it didnt look pretty at all and pretty was the point of wanting long hair in the first place!