PDA

View Full Version : How do you do a simple french braid by yourself?

Locke
August 6th, 2009, 07:49 PM
I've looked around a little but I haven't been able to find anything for this very particular detail.

Here's the situation : my hair, as it is now, is the longest it's been for me in my life. I only started almost three years ago. So it's no wonder that hair care has been on and off during that time, and that I'm still learning. Recently, a friend of mine did a french braid to me, and I kept it for sleeping. It was just so much better in the morning as it cut down the maintenance time by half. I had so much less detangling to do (It's very fine hair, so it seems to tangle up easily).

My question : does anyone know of a good step by step article in how to do a simple french braid by yourself? With in mind that the person doing it has never ever done one. I tried several times, but I can't figure out how to cross my arms over each other and how to hold the strands properly. It just seems to all tangle messily.

Thanks for the help

Elphie
August 6th, 2009, 08:01 PM
I'm sure you can find some examples on Youtube, I happen to like this tutorial.
http://www.dreamweaverbraiding.com/braids/self_french.htm

yellowchariot
August 6th, 2009, 08:14 PM
Hey awesome avatar! are you a Final Fantasy RPG fan? I love Final Fantasy games! I just don't have the time to play them anymore!!! :o

I am currently in a similar situation. When I do outside lawn work I find that french/dutch braids (aka mohawk warrior braid) are the best ways to keep all of the hair out of your face. Usually if I'm with someone who knows how to, they will put one in for me. Though just recently I almost done one on myself. Since then, I've been practicing everyday. I'm almost ready to actually "commission" it for the outdoors LOL!