PDA

View Full Version : What do you reckon now? (Type, pics.)

Flynn
July 31st, 2009, 10:34 PM
Hello! I've been annoying you all here for a few months now, and have made a lot of changes to my routine, to the point that I am noticing a tangible difference in my hair.

Before: I was using the only shampoo and conditioner that I had been able to find some three or four years ago that did not destroy my skin. The conditioner had cones, the shampoo had sulfates (low concentration, though) and both had protein. I used no leave-in. I brushed as often as I felt like. Unbrushed and air-dried, it looked like this:

http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b106/maccallister/unbrushed.jpg

When I posted this image, bringing to your attention that all the waves also had twists in them, the majority opinion was that I was a 2b.

Now: Prompted by my skin acting up in the face of even my super-sensitive shampoo and conditioner, I went on a quest to find a new alternative. My new shampoo is sulfate free and cone-free (but does still contain traditional detergents, just milder ones), and my new conditioners are both cone-free and also do not have protein added. I have not stopped brushing, but I do use a comb a lot of the time now, too, which was not an option before, as I found out the hard way, because of the fineness, dryness and tangliness of my hair at that point. (It really was a disaster.) I now oil (walnut is my favourite at the moment, but coconut gets a go occasionally, too), and overall I have noticed a HUGE improvement when it comes to tangles (and I mean H-U-G-E! ) and an apparent strengthening of my wave/wurl pattern.

Today, after just patting with a towel then air-drying, it looks like this:

http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b106/maccallister/unbrushed2.png http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b106/maccallister/unbrushed2p1.png http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b106/maccallister/Length.png