PDA

View Full Version : What about O/O (And I'm not talking about an otter in an oil slick)

Vermelha
July 31st, 2009, 06:18 AM
First off, I'm a newbie, so...yay! :cheese:

Second, I've been rather curious about the W/O (Water Only) and No Water, Sebum Only (NW/SO) regimes. I wanted to say right off that those regimes are genius to me, especially being a very curly-headed person. Co-washing didn't work for me, nor did organic shampoos (my hair felt dry, yet wet in a weird kind of way)...

So I tried the W/O for a little bit and really enjoyed it. Since my hair is already dry, it really helped to just use water only and kick the shampoo to the curb. (I did clarify to get rid of cones and other products before doing this.)

But one day after my W/O wash, somehow, my mind went into sort of a time travel to the past, (lol), and I grabbed my coconut oil and started to oil my hair and scalp. It felt great, and felt even better upon the next wash. Once again, I applied the coconut oil to my hair after washing (my hair is curly, so I'm assuming that oils would take longer to travel down a curly hair shaft), and my hair had never felt so moisturized and looked so glossy and dark.

Then, this week, I decided to not wash my hair altogether. Instead, I've been using oil on my hair and scalp during nightly scalp massages. Just a tad bit of oil on the scalp was enough.

My scalp surprisingly doesn't have that awkward smell that usually occurs and my hair feels stronger (coconut oil is great stuff). And not washing/detangling on a daily basis is really the best part about it. I just either braid my hair up or wear an updo or bun (or scarf if I feel like I look crappy).

So what do you say? Would this be an O/O regime? I'm sure a lot of straighties and wavies out there would probably look like an otter in an oil slick after oiling their hair every day. :o I guess it could be modified to be done once weekly?

Or has this already been done and I've exhausted my poor fingers :(