PDA

View Full Version : Any nurses here? I've got a question for you!

SimplyViki
July 15th, 2009, 12:46 PM
I don't want to put it in the polls section because I want it to be an open-ended, not a closed-ended question (can you tell I've just finished Fundamentals of Nursing?:eyebrows:) and I don't want to box anyone into a particular response.

I'm a nursing student who is wondering:

How has nursing affected the way you treat your hair?

windinherhair
July 15th, 2009, 02:07 PM
Before I became a nurse, I had a job where I could wear my hair down a lot. I started to pull my hair back a lot more when I became a nurse to keep it out of my way. I have gotten a lot of ideas from this forum on new ways to pull it back.... so really nursing only helped my hair for the better.

AmyJorgensen
July 15th, 2009, 02:36 PM
I am pre-nursing I guess. (Haven't taken the TEAS yet) I think it has improved my hair, because I found this forum through searches for updos for long hair. (I was looking to the nursing future) Since I've found this forum, my hair has improved a lot.

Coriander
July 15th, 2009, 02:39 PM
I'm pre-nursing as well, and can tell you that this forum has helped greatly. I was seriously thinking about cutting it short "to make it easier for my career", but re-found this forum and have kept it long and in updos.

While I was working in an Alzheimer's facility, this forum helped me with updos and such that would keep my hair out of... well, keep it clean ;)

I love LHC :D

happyquilter
July 15th, 2009, 02:45 PM
I was a nurse for 30+ years, with most of those years in surgery. Between wearing a hair covering and mask tied over my head in surgery, just plain genetics (bald Dad and grandmother, aunt with thinning hair), and lupus (can thin hair), I have dismayingly thinning hair. That may not answer your question but that's my situation.

If you work in surgery, be sure to hold your patients hands as they go to sleep. It matters.