PDA

View Full Version : Misperception of length

Periwinkle
July 8th, 2009, 12:46 PM
Many of us here have a story of people drastically under-/over-estimating the length of our hair...well, here's a recent one of mine.

I'm a secondary school student, and we were doing a science lesson on parts of the brain. The exercise was to make a hat for someone (basically just a looped strip of paper with a sheet stuck to it) and to label different parts of the brain in the appropriate places.

There were 3 of us working together. I had the smallest head, but I didn't want to take my hair down, so we made the hat for someone else (in fact, the girl with the very-above-average-sized head). The teacher came over to talk and made a joke about how we should have gone for me instead, and I said that I didn't want to take my hair down, upon which my friend said, 'Her hair is amazing! It's like, long enough for her to sit on!'.

Now, I know I don't wear my hair down, but this particular friend knows exactly how long my hair is as she has seen me with it down and has even done it herself quite a lot (the last time being maybe a month and a bit ago), and I find it quite funny that she managed to exaggerate almost WL to TB+. What's more, when I mentioned it, she said 'But it's almost that long!'. :eyebrows:

Anyone else got a misperception story to share?

eternallyverdan
July 8th, 2009, 01:03 PM
Well, your hair is so thick that maybe people mistake volume for length. It's absolutely gorgeous!

The misconception thing happens to me all the time. People see my hair and they say, "Wow! It's almost at your knees!" and I just sigh, because I have at least another year or two of growing to do, assuming I don't get to terminal before then.

GlassEyes
July 8th, 2009, 01:11 PM
Every time someone refers to my hair as long. XD; Ugh.

enfys
July 8th, 2009, 01:21 PM