PDA

View Full Version : How much do I cut?!

ttubabe
June 30th, 2009, 09:41 PM
So I'm fairly new to LHC and have read amazing things and I absolutely love it here. I am in need of your help however!
I scheduled a trim for the 17th of July and after I clarified the other day to diagnose my hair (which I don't think I did properly) I noticed I had horrible split ends. I'm using a coney conditioner so it hides them pretty well but the more I looked at my ends and gently pulled on the strands they would just snap off. I was so depressed!!! I'm a curly girl about a 3C and my hair's just about half an inch above my tail bone. I love my length but I have a feeling that I'm going to have to cut off at least 2 inches to get rid of the damage.

I'm using up the last of my coney stuff very soon and I'm thinking of going CO without cones and doing my coconut oil treatments twice a week instead of just once a week like I am now. Does anyone have any other suggestions to help repair my hair so I won't have to cut that much off? I noticed the other day that I had splits and a little further up I had the little white little dot. My hair grows pretty fast and my stylist is really good about not cutting too much off but I figured I could get the best advice from all the people on here.

Bene
June 30th, 2009, 09:48 PM
is your hair at tailbone while curly or pulled straight?

ttubabe
June 30th, 2009, 09:49 PM
Pulled straight. Sorry I should have put that :p.

OhioLisa
June 30th, 2009, 09:49 PM
Well, you can't repair breakage or splits really, so you're going to have to eventually cut them off to be rid of them. Whether you want to cut more now, or do it in stages is up to you. :shrug: (Gee, I'm of no help, eh?)

Bene
June 30th, 2009, 09:53 PM
Pulled straight. Sorry I should have put that :p.

what is roughly your length when you let it go curly?

the reason i'm asking this is because it pretty much comes down to "how much of your length are you willing to lose"