PDA

View Full Version : Self trimming?

Mrs.X
June 28th, 2009, 01:00 PM
Hi everyone! I'm thinking of trimming my own hair rather than going to a hairdresser since they always seem to take off a bit too much, but i've never done it before and don't really know how to. I've seen a few members mention Feye's self trimming method but i had a good search through the forums/articles and couldn't find anything, so i was hoping someone could be so kind as to point me in the right direction? Thanks so much :) x

Jessie
June 28th, 2009, 01:08 PM
I've done self trim for quite a while, and always have a family member check to make sure it's level when I am finished. Usually what I do is put it all in a snug pony tail at the nape, making sure it's all straight and pulled evenly. Then I pull down on the scrunchy slowly and evenly, straight down my back, until it's almost to the end. Then I trim as much off as needed, usually less than I think, just to make sure I don't chop too much. Usually there's a little bit that needs trimmed again, so I usually repeat the procedure a couple times, and then ask someone to check the even-ness for me. That's the way I do it... I think someone on the forum mentioned this a long time ago, but I don't remember who it was. Sorry for not crediting you, whoever you are! :-)

Mrs.X
June 28th, 2009, 01:11 PM
Thanks so much Jessie! x

krissykins
June 28th, 2009, 01:22 PM
This (http://community.livejournal.com/feyeselftrim/) is the link to Feye's instructions. HTH :)

willowcandra
June 28th, 2009, 01:37 PM
I can reccomend feyes method, as linked above. Never failed me.

neon-dream
June 28th, 2009, 02:10 PM
I used Feye's method too, I cut my hair from a V shape to a U with her directions, I would never have been able to do it otherwise!

I reccomend this method to anyone :).

Pixna
June 28th, 2009, 02:14 PM
I have also used Feye's method for years to create a variety of hemlines -- blunt, U, and V. It works like a charm!

daydreamer