PDA

View Full Version : short "wurly" hair style tips?

smerrie
June 19th, 2009, 09:07 AM
I am trying to grow my hair out - obviously haha - and right now it is about 18.5 inches and just past my shoulders. I have been straightening it for about 5 years now, and I really thought that it hadn't done much damage to my hair. However, when I was looking at old pictures the other day, I couldn't believe how gorgeous and dark my BSL hair looked in 2002! I blow-dried back then, but that was it, and my hair was so thick and pretty compared to now.
Since then I have done highlights, dying, color stripping, LOTS of blow-drying and straightening (well, every day), and my hair is showing it!

I haven't worn my hair completely natural since I was about 13 though, and I am kind of at a loss of what to do with it to make it look nice and still keep my natural texture.
My hair is very fine, kind of curly underneath, wavy on top of that, and the top layers just have a slight wave.

What can you guys tell me about adding fullness, and enhancing my texture so that it actually looks decent? :confused:
Thanks so much!!

Rohele
June 19th, 2009, 09:51 AM
You sound like you are just about in the same place as I was when I joined about 6 months ago. My hair sounds similar to yours, except it's curlier on top and straighter underneath. I've got lots of heat styling and dying damage to deal with too.

Some things that helped me were: switching to CO washing - the CO method really helps tone down frizziness, not touching my hair while it was drying, and also using a product to enhance the curls (gel, curl creme etc.).

Many curlies/wavies will not comb after drying (I do, but that's just personal preference on my part, my hair doesn't seem to get horribly poufy if I comb).

Methods like plopping, or scrunching or twirling the waves/curls can help enhance them as well.

Check out the wurly and curly thread as well - there's lots of information in there too.

smerrie
June 19th, 2009, 10:01 AM