PDA

View Full Version : What length hair stick, fork?

Fairlight63
June 3rd, 2009, 06:17 AM
I am new to having somewhat long hair & don't know much about the lengths to buy for the hair sticks, & forks.
My hair is about 25" long, fine & thin.

So those of you with that hair type what works for you?

Bluebell
June 3rd, 2009, 09:08 AM
You could try pencils for hairsticks. It might be a good length for you, maybe shorter? But that's a way to try if hairsticks work for you before buying, and to see what length hairsticks you would like.

kdaniels8811
June 3rd, 2009, 09:36 AM
My hair is fine and thin and I use a max 5" hairstick. Mei Fa sticks are great for my hair. Any longer and I have things poking out that could potentially hurt someone! Almost all of the stick makers offer a 5". With forks, I get 4" forks, that is the fork length, not the overall length so be careful when ordering, that has tripped some folks up. So shorter is better for fine/thin hair. Keytos hair sticks work GREAT in my hair, one of them holds my hair all day. I have 4" Mei Fa sticks I use to keep my hair up to sleep in - without poking hubby's eye out! Hope this helps...

ElenTikvah
June 3rd, 2009, 09:38 AM
I have a similar hair type, tho my hair is longer (my taper is severe, so my length hasn't changed my bun too much).

Generally, I like 4.5 to 5.5 inches of useable length, usually 5" is just about perfect for me in most updos (tho honestly, I need a bit longer for use in chinese buns). I can use longer lengths, but they usually end up poking me in the neck or getting caught on things all the time.

~Tik

ETA: I love the Mei Fa sticks too...the PERFECT length!

Monchhichi
June 6th, 2009, 05:38 AM