PDA

View Full Version : Waxies! Should I wash again?

Kazazi
April 8th, 2008, 07:45 AM
Hi y'all,

I just did my first wash with a CV camomile & citrus shampoo bar - lathered twice, then once more just on scalp and used their cucumber and yoghurt soap as conditioner on my length, followed by a 1:10 vinegar rinse.

Now my not even shoulder length hair is still not totally dry more than 3 hours later and totally yucky and waxy.

My last two washes before that were with a Serpentine Hair shampoo bar, followed by vinegar, and although it was a tad waxy it was nowhere near as bad. Before that, I was using Lush haircare, which has SLS but no cones.

My question is: should I wash again right away, or wait till tomorrow or the day after? I am really urging to wash again, but not sure if that would be rash? Also, if and when I do wash again, should I clarify with baking soda? I've never done this before.

I didn't think I should have build up, since no cones in years, so I am blaming the soap. But I am a) not sure if that's correct and b) not sure if a clarifying wash is needed to fix this problem.

What do you all say?

Thanks! :)

lora410
April 8th, 2008, 07:51 AM
Well when I went from one poo bar to another I had the what felt like *soap scum* buildup. I did claify with a little bit of baking soda in sulfate free poo and then I had no issues. I think whenever you try a new bar or switch to a different type clarify first.

Katze
April 8th, 2008, 08:03 AM
I haven't used shampoo bars in years but remember them not getting my hair really clean, which was why I liked them when I had bleached hair.

The "waxy" you describe reminds me of what happened when i went on WO for a few weeks. I really wanted to be shampoo, and sulfate, free. Then I was at BF's parents and could only find shampoo...and used it. No conditioner, oil, etc. My hair looked and felt GREAT.