PDA

View Full Version : The BSL updo thread!

pariate
April 8th, 2008, 02:33 AM
:waving:

I know there are heaps of updos and styles on the board but I wondered if anyone might want to join me in consolidating some for BSL hair here?

If you don't think this will float then by all means tell me :o

I'm not terribly adventurous with my styling, but there are two styles I use frequently - one I used to think was called a chignon, but now I'm not so sure; and one that's kind of... grecian.

Okay, the first one. (Please bear with me, I'm not very good at explaining things like this and I don't have a camera!).

Smooth my hair back as though to make a ponytail, but off-centre (for the purposes of this explanation, to the right).
Holding the base of the "side tail", loop the hair so that the ends are also held in the hand. The ends should be on the side of the tail towards the centre of the head (to the left)
Fold the hair to create the pleat against the head and secure the hair with lots of pins!That's the first terrible explanation out of the way... :blushing: Now for the grecian thing.

Start with hair behind the shoulders, hanging loose.
Take a small section of hair (about the width of a finger or two) and twist around your fingers.
Slide off of fingers. "Smoosh" the loop flat against the head and secure with one or two pins.
Repeat with all the hair, arranging the smooshed loops so that the overall shape is round on the back of your head.
Looks lovely with a few loose strands to soften the style.Good grief, if ANY of you can make sense of my apalling descriptions you are truly gifted!

My BF has a camera and I'll get him to snap me sometime so I can post pics of these styles.

seabear
April 8th, 2008, 05:39 AM
The Grecian style sounds pretty, I hope you can get a pic for us?