PDA

View Full Version : growing out curly hair from 1/4"

gnome
May 11th, 2009, 02:06 AM
hello all!
i am new to the longhair forums. i'm really excited about the amount of knowledge and resources gathered on here!

as a child i had very long hair, which was constantly commented upon. my terminal length was much longer than other little girls', and my mom insisted that i keep it long (tailbone length).

when i hit 12, she finally let me cut it to BS length. then, at 15, i cut it to about 1 inch. two years later i buzzed it all off, before keeping it "boy cut" for a few more years.
http://photos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v1754/217/102/9219379/n9219379_36888252_9377.jpg
^trimmed to waist length before the first real cut.

http://photos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v1754/217/102/9219379/n9219379_36889829_2837.jpg
^before the big chop

http://photos-d.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v1754/217/102/9219379/n9219379_36889811_6895.jpg
^the basic haircut i kept for 5 years

i always toyed with the idea of growing it long again, but was afraid of the awkward grow-out time. however, last summer i toughed it out and started growing it out again! yay!
i think that i have 3b/3c f/m iii hair?
it is now fully shoulder length
http://i370.photobucket.com/albums/oo144/spiritxlake/MyPicture-7-4.jpg

my current regimen is:
scrub scalp and roots once or twice a week with baking soda paste. rinse with diluted white vinegar (about 1 tbsp per cup), finger comb and then cold water rinse.

i am very lucky in that
- it grows at quite a decent rate!
- it's fairly healthy now, no split ends

so here are the areas in which i'm needing help:
- i have some mild breakage, but not bad
- it is quite curly and tends to frizz? not really bad now that i'm doing the baking soda / vinegar on it, and it doesn't frizz really at all if i let it dry at night or wrapped.
- it tends to be quite dry and dull. i know this is partially due to the curl, but there's got to be something i can do about it.