PDA

View Full Version : Teach me how to make a henna gloss :)

EvilPigeon
April 6th, 2008, 02:19 PM
Okay,so this is my first time doing a henna gloss. I have no clue how to do it, so I am in need of a little help. Thanks.

Riot Crrl
April 6th, 2008, 02:47 PM
There are probably as many ways to do it as there are henna-heads, but here's how I did it.

- Small amount of already dye released henna. I think I used a couple tablespoons.
- Large amount of conditioner. I think I used almost a cup.
- Put in hair. I did not leave it in as long as I usually leave henna, maybe an hour or two. I don't see why you couldn't leave it in longer if you wanted to, though. I wrapped it as I normally would for henna.

Results: It created the pre-oxidation "henna glow" for a few days, but didn't seem to really add much saturation. It could be hard to tell, because I was already a full hennahead. This might be a good option for blondes who want to go strawberry without going dark red, as long as they fully tested it first, and might want to use even less henna. Hair was very conditioned, which may have been from the long conditioner treatment, lol. It rinsed out way more easily than a full henna. It looked freakish when I first pulled off the bag, because the henna dust combined with whatever white solids from the conditioner had not soaked in, made a Statue of Liberty color.

Since you've already done a full henna and it was red even before, I'd imagine your results could be similar to mine.

Flaxen
April 6th, 2008, 03:54 PM
Here are a couple of links to posts by some of the old timers. Valentina was the first to call it a henna gloss, I think. :smile:

Valentina's Henna Gloss (http://www.network54.com/Forum/25339/message/1005240610/My+%93gloss%94+recipe%85++%3B%29).

Riverboat Red's Henna Gloss (http://www.network54.com/Forum/227393/message/1045499730/My+henna+gloss+recipe---).

beledigrrl
April 16th, 2008, 05:10 PM