PDA

View Full Version : Question for no 'poo-ers

muuserid
May 4th, 2009, 03:14 PM
Hello all!

This is perhaps a dumb question, but I have not been able to find an adequate answer on the forum: can you still use styling product if you are no 'poo? I'm thinking about no poo, but once a week or so I like to use conventional styling gels/mouse to heat style my hair. Does CO, WO, or baking soda effectively cleanse the hair of these products, or is product something I must eschew if I want to go poo-less? If the latter, then maybe I would just do shampoo post-styling days?

Thanks for your help!

PhillyGirl1978@
May 4th, 2009, 05:33 PM
You can use product as long as it has stuff in it that can be removed without sulfate shampoo. I have been co-washing & etc for about 4 years now. I just stay away from cone's, mineral oil, petroleum. I have found gels that have pretty natural ingredients in them that work but now I can get by with just conditioner and AVG as styling product.

jera
May 5th, 2009, 01:41 AM
CO works fine for me and removes product buildup too. I don't add much of anything to my hair but do use a dab of gel in front daily. It washes out just fine and doesn't require any special rinses though I am partial to rosemary water rinses. :)

Tap Dancer
May 5th, 2009, 06:37 AM
This is perhaps a dumb question, but I have not been able to find an adequate answer on the forum: can you still use styling product if you are no 'poo?

Sure, you can. :) Conditioner isn't as harsh as shampoo, but it cleanses very well.

MissTamora
May 5th, 2009, 06:50 AM