PDA

View Full Version : Great use for hair clippings

goodluckcharm
April 23rd, 2009, 12:22 PM
I found this program that uses discarded hair clippings from salons to make mats that help soak up oil spills. I think it's such a great idea! I just assumed hair clippings would always be thrown away.

http://www.matteroftrust.org/programs/hairmatsinfo.html

eyesofsummer
April 23rd, 2009, 12:27 PM
Yay! I'm glad someone else has heard of this. I've been saving my sheds and itty bitty clippings for over six months now, and I'm really surprised how much hair I've actually accumulated! I can only imagine how much clipped hair salons must have every day.

I plan on sending my gatherings to them after a whole year or so has passed.
The best things about the mats is that they're reusable...somewhere on the site it says they can be wrung out and used over and over again! :D

KajiKodomo
April 23rd, 2009, 12:32 PM
Wow, this is awesome! :D

mooglewoo
April 23rd, 2009, 12:35 PM
That is awesome. I've sent the link to two friends who are stylists. I'm curious to see how much I can save. It doesn't seem like a lot at the time, but imagine after a few trims....

enfys
April 23rd, 2009, 01:58 PM
Is there anything similar in the UK or even elsewhere in Europe?

Sending it air mail seems counter productive...

Nightshade
April 23rd, 2009, 02:51 PM
You can donate clean pet hair as well, so for those of you with Furminators (http://www.furminator.com/), save the fuzz and send it in!

JamieLeigh
April 23rd, 2009, 03:04 PM
Wow, that's such a great idea! I never thought about saving clipped hair for anything. :D

Carolyn
April 23rd, 2009, 03:14 PM
You can donate clean pet hair as well, so for those of you with Furminators (http://www.furminator.com/), save the fuzz and send it in!Oh my! I've always joked that there should be a use for all the shed doggy hair at my house. I'm saving my shed hair from my brush to stuff a pin cushion some day.

Jessikinz
April 23rd, 2009, 03:24 PM