PDA

View Full Version : Going blonde- how should I prepare?

amaiaisabella
April 3rd, 2008, 07:33 PM
Well, I just joined this site a few days ago so I am still pretty new to all the techniques/treatments/whatnot that you guys have perfected. I just started CO but I think I need to find a better conditioner to do it.

Anyway, I'm going to the salon this weekend to lighten my medium brown hair to dark blonde. :cheese: I have been coloring for a few years now, but the past few months I have tried to color a lot less- the last time I colored was 7 weeks ago with a permanent at home color.

I know that once my hair is colored that my hair will probably get dryer again. I was hoping you all had some suggestions of how I could prepare my hair for the color, and how to baby it after the big change!

Riot Crrl
April 3rd, 2008, 07:47 PM
I'm sorry that this probably isn't what you want to hear, but as someone who's been lightening my hair for many years in various ways, my only advice is... don't.

They will use bleach at the salon. Your condition will more than likely change permanently to coarser, rougher, and frizzier. It can be helped with babying but never reversed, until you cut it off.

prosperina
April 3rd, 2008, 07:54 PM
RiotCrrl is right, but there's another side to this story too. Highlighting isn't totally verboten, and this is coming from someone who bleached her hair at home for 10 years. shudder:

There's a few members here who highlight, and they have long, beautiful hair. Hopefully a few of them will pop in.