PDA

View Full Version : my nail clipper

michael
April 6th, 2009, 12:21 PM
I keep a nail clipper on my keychain and I've started using it to trim split ends when i see them. i take off as little length as possible, and the nail clipper is fairly sharp. is this a good idea or could i be doing more harm than good? how sharp does a hair cutting tool need to be?

Nyghtingale
April 6th, 2009, 12:43 PM
oh, good question. I look forward to the answer. :cool:

enfys
April 6th, 2009, 02:37 PM
I wil assume it's ok, because surely nails are so much tougher than hair they have to be strong and sharp?

I have no experience of this though. Or got out a magnifying glass to look.

OhioLisa
April 6th, 2009, 02:43 PM
I would go with more harm than good. Snapping a nail off doesn't require a very sharp instrument, really. But cutting off a split in such a way as to prevent further splitting requires good, sharp scissors.

Anje
April 6th, 2009, 02:48 PM
I've gone through more than a few really lousy nail clippers in my day. I think a better option might be fingernail scissors, or mustache-trimming scissors, if you want something small and inexpensive.

Meli
April 6th, 2009, 02:51 PM
In my experience, nail clippers aren't sharp enough for hair. I used mine sometimes for self trims before LHC, but when I started to pay more attention to the health of my hair, I found that using a nail clipper to snip splits left the ends looking like optic fibres. That effect is caused by frayed ends, which soon enough will develop into new splits. Sharp hair scissors do not cause fiber-optic ends, so there is definitely a difference.

michael
April 6th, 2009, 03:22 PM
yeah, in my experience nail clipping is more about the force applied than the sharpness of the blade, that's why I'm asking. maybe i'll buy a swiss army knife and use the scissors from that that. i probably can sharpen the blades myself with... whatever blades are sharpened with.

michael
April 6th, 2009, 03:40 PM