PDA

View Full Version : Beginner toy recs?

Riot Crrl
April 3rd, 2008, 12:57 AM
My problem is in three parts.

1. I am a total updo beginner.

2. I have very picky taste in accessories for myself. I like them to be as minimalistic and simple as possible. (Not for others though, y'all are gorgeous with your fancy accessories. I just don't think I can rock them.)

3. BSL with layers, need I say more.

I know that there are very simple sticks out there, but I'm having problems getting sticks to hold at this length. I used to have limited success with them when my hair was longer. And by limited success, I mean that it would stay up. It surely looked awful as I still have no idea what I'm doing to this day.

Traditional drugstore type accessories present the usual problems, like falling apart immediately or snapping across the room at inopportune moments. And breakage.

I have a birthday coming up, and I'm thinking about asking for a Ficcare. I like the looks of some of them (in plain black lol). It's about ten times more than I ever spent on a hairclip, but, y'know, I'm not paying. I would probably participate in the choosing of it, at Nordstrom, land of the most liberal policies ever. So they would probably let me try it on and stuff.

Do you think that would be a good choice for me? Any advice? TIA! :D

Cinnamon Hair
April 3rd, 2008, 01:02 AM
I think a ficcare would be an awesome choice for you. Especially since you have layers and trouble with getting updos to stay. A ficcare will clamp onto anything and stay without losing its grip mid-day. I can make the most lousy bun, clip it with a ficcare and it holds like no other.

MerryKat
April 3rd, 2008, 01:12 AM
I love hair forks and you can get them in plain wood and metal that are not overly decorated. I found that a basic high bun holds great at BSL with layers.

sapphire-o
April 3rd, 2008, 01:48 AM
Hair slides are very easy to use, too. I think a Flexi-8 would be good choice for a starter hair slide. :)

Jeni