PDA

View Full Version : Hair dye help!!

pushingdaisys
March 28th, 2009, 09:46 PM
hello all. im pretty new to TLHC and i tryed searching but have had some trouble finding what i need. okay so heres the deal. i have narutally dark brown hair but i want to go red.... and im not talking red like ive seen some of the henna threads turned up but a slightly brighter red sort of like this one http://www.hji.co.uk/hjimages/images/qhs167/hji/medium/2006-red-fringe.jpg
or even this one
http://www.marshu.com/articles/images-website/articles/americas-next-top-model/antm-americas-next-top-model-7-caridee/caridee-photo-wild-red-hair-and-dress.jpg

so my problem is how to get a color like that without doing too much damage to my hair with regular dyes. any help would be extremely appreciated so please throw your two cents in... thanks

marajade
March 28th, 2009, 09:55 PM
I think the second one has quite a few colors in it, so I am not sure of what you mean, but I know henna reacts with the hair color underneath, Cassia is supposed to help lighten the henna up and give your color a way to be brighter if your natural color underneath isn't light enough for what you want. . . that being said, I don't really know much about chemical color. and only a little about henna. Are you wanting to do a box dye or professional color? I would suggest you go in for a consultation and take hair with you, and pictures. The colorist maybe could do strand tests?

I hope others chime in with their expertise. :)

I think if you are going to do chemical dye you need to think about the dryness of your hair now and think about how that would change your routine. Deep conditioning at least once a week I think is good place to start.

CindyLea1
March 28th, 2009, 10:08 PM
Check out this page. http://www.hennaforhair.com/mixes/index.html

Now, as I understand it henna is cumulative. Meaning that the more you apply it the stronger your color. And the color also depends on your natural, starting hair color.