PDA

View Full Version : aloe vera shampoo recipe?

ahbuddha7
March 23rd, 2009, 10:33 PM
Hi All, first time poster, I tried to read and search to make sure I am not reposting a question, I hope it is not reduntant. Anyway, I have scalp psoriasis and have been SLS free for years, unfortunately my favorite shampoo maker has raised their prices outside my budget:(. I am now trying to figure out how to make my own soap free shampoo. I see many recipes on the internet that use castile soap as a base, I would like to avoid this because I am sensitive to ANY soap. The ingredient list on the shampoo I had been using is aloe vera, does anyone have a recipe for an aloe vera based cleanser?

My hair is moderately curly, neither fine nor coarse, oily base with crispy ends

I have tried ACV and a couple tea rinses but my hair doesn't feel clean and feels flat and stringy.

Thanks in advance for any advice:)

CurlyCare
March 24th, 2009, 09:24 AM
Hi Abuddha7,

This is my first time posting in a looooong time. I don't have a great recipe for you, but I can tell you that I have "washed" my hair with nothing but aloe vera gel (either the watery kind you buy at a health food store, or the "gel" kind you get at a drug store for sunburn). I just rub it into the scalp (usually on dry hair, but I don't see why it wouldn't work on wet hair), give a little massage, and rinse out. I've never adopted this as my main cleaning routine, and I don't have psoriasis, but it has worked for me on occasions when I had an itchy or dry scalp.

--CC

Sia
March 24th, 2009, 10:04 AM
Hi. I'm a new member too (but a long-time lurker!).

I'm sensitive to shampoo but what works for me as a substitute is:

-HES shampoo (mixture of honey, egg (and AVC)). If you look around the boards you'll a find a great many recipes.

-I've also used rhassoul clay which left my hair VERY clean. Some mix it with oil and/or egg to avoid potential dryness and produce milder results.